LC/GF/DF St. Patrick’s Day 

  

🍀I trust everyong has had a fantastic day, filled with amazing food, fun activities, and made some new memories!! 🍀

So what exactly is there to eat when you’re living a low carb life? It’s hard, especially when recipes such as colcannon and yummy soda bread keep popping up in all the search results. It gets even harder when you have to factor in gluten free and dairy free needs. There are some ingredients I don’t have access to, such as psyllium powder, and other ingredients I can’t use like tapioca starch and rice flour. I felt defeated thought I would have to finally accept that I wasn’t going to get my traditional soda bread to eat with a creamy potato chowder. It’s ok, I’m not pouting…that’s when I decided I could still have potato soup and bread, but with a twist! 

  

LC/GF/DF Potato Soup and Savory Zucchini Bread

Soup:

1 onion, chopped

3 stalks celery, chopped

3 carrots, peeled and chopped

32 oz frozen cauliflower, thawed and chop the bigger chunks

3 garlic cloves, minced

1 pound bacon, chopped and fried (reserve bacon grease)

Salt and pepper to taste

8 cups homemade chicken stock or broth

Directions:

Cook and drain bacon, set aside. Add half of the hot bacon grease to a large dutch oven soup pot, to this you’ll sweat onions, celery, and carrots. Once they are tender pour in chopped cauliflower, minced garlic and cook covered for 10 minutes. Season with salt, pepper, and pour in the stock or broth. Lower temp to simmer till the vegetables are soft. Reseason if needed before serving. 

Bread:

2 cups zucchini, peeled and shredded

6 eggs

1/2 cup coconut oil, melted

2 tsp vinegar(apple cider if you prefer)

1/2 tsp kosher salt

1/2 tsp black pepper

1 tsp garlic powder

1 tsp onion powder

1 tsp sweet summer savory or 1 tsp drief thyme

1 tsp baking soda

3/4 cup coconut flour

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and either use coconut oil to grease a loaf pan or line with Reynolds non-stick foil. 

Peel and shred zucchini, do not squeeze out moisture with paper towels. Set aside.

In a medium bowl combine eggs, melted coconut oil, vinegar, salt, pepper, garlic powder, onion powder, and sweet summer savory or dried thyme. Use a handmixer to thoroughly mix together. Stire in shredded zucchini. Set aside.

In a small bowl mix together coconut flour and baking soda. Add into wet ingredients and stir to combine. Mixture will not be loose. Spoon into prepared loaf pan and make sure it’s spread even. Bake for 42-50 minutes, depending on your oven. Start checking it after 42 minutes with a knife in the center. If it comes out clean with no gooey uncooked dough stuck to it then the bread is done. Let it cool for a few minutes in the pan before turning out onto serving platter. Serve warm.

To serve:

Ladel the mock potato soup into bowl, add a slice of zucchini bread, and a chunk of kielbasa or Irish sausage. 

For me, I personally LOVED the zucchini bread in the soup. I tried a piece as soon as it came out of the oven and even though there were all those eggs and oil in the dough, the nature of the coconut flour still came through…very drying. It sucked the moisture out of my mouth. This is why I ate it with my soup broth and it was 🍀perfect🍀!! This is my new favorite soup and bread! I will update this post later with carb counts, I think the bread is a little over a carb per slice. Will make sure to double check. 

Let me know if you try this and what you think! I enjoy hearing feedback, however in order to comment below you have to sign up with WordPress. It’s free and you don’t have to have a blog in order to have an account. You can also sign up to follow my blog, it’s free as well! You’ll receive an email with my latest post every time I put up something new! 

All righty gang, stay safe, and see you all later! 

💚Love and blessings to all💚

  

One thought on “LC/GF/DF St. Patrick’s Day 

Leave a Reply

