Keto Bread (Review)

Hey y’all!! I know I haven’t done a recipe review in a while and with this particular recipe I will admit I was a tad leery of it. Mostly because I have had the oopsie bread and numerous others like it in the past. The one thing all these recipes have in common are eggs. There’s no escaping it, when you remove gluten from any recipe the go to ingredient to add in its place are eggs. I am still on the look out for a low carb bread that is soy free and still looks like bread with a similar texture. I know, wishful thinking perhaps, but a girl can dream! šŸ˜‰

This Keto Bread recipe provided a nice addition to our Friday night meal of meatball casserole and caesar salad. Click HERE to get the recipe for this bread and to see their scrumptious pictures. Right off the bat what sold me on trying this recipe was that all the ingredients were items that I already had! Almond flour, eggs, baking powder, butter, salt, and cream of tartar. I didn’t have to have psyllium, tapioca, rice or oat flour. The second thing that sold it for me is that it’s 1.3 carbs per slice! That’s a HUGE difference from 11 carbs per slice of store bought bread.

All week I spent a little time each day looking through the reviews seeing if anyone had any questions, concerns, or possible ideas on how to take this basic recipe and do other yummy things with it. That’s when I decided to turn it into cheesy garlic bread, cutting it into sticks was something on the fly at the moment when I realized loaf slices wasn’t going to happen for me.

After checking all the loaf pans in my possession, I discovered that I didn’t have an 8×4 loaf pan(that is going to be remedied soon), instead I had an 8-in round cake pan, which I then lined with Reynolds Non-Stick foil. The recipe said to butter the dish, personally I prefer to reduce the amount of dishes I have to do. But you’re welcome to flour the pan if you prefer. Don’t let my laziness deter you! šŸ˜‰ Resolved on the pan I plan to use, I set about following the recipe to the T! For me baking is something I don’t take lightly, ingredients are expensive(especially almond flour) and this is why I measure carefully. Always. The only time I relax on not measuring ingredients exactly is when I’m cooking, which is totally different.

It really is an easy recipe from egg separating, egg white whipping, to the making of dough. Which you can either usea food Ā processor or a hand mixer(I chose the latter, gee wonder why?!). The only part I was remotely concerned about was when I had to incorporate the whipped egg whites into the almond flour dough. My concern was that I was going to lose all that wonderful air, thankfully I didn’t. After letting it bake for 30 minutes, I removed it from the oven and let it cool on the stove top.

After letting it sit in the pan for 30 minutes I sliced off a sliver and was not surprised at the familiar taste or texture. Eggy bread, but not too bad. It was definitely something I could work with! That’s when I began to slice the round “bread” and then each slice was cut in half to make short bread stix.(Yes, I spelled it like that on purpose!) See below…


Those who follow my blog know that I make my own garlic butter(click HERE) by the pound. It’s great to keep on hand, perfect on steaks, in soups, sauces, and shrimp scampi. After I sliced the keto bread, I placed it on a half sheet pan, again lined with foil, and proceeded to dress the stix with garlic butter and mozzarella cheese.

At this point I was still iffy about the final results, with my bread loving family I knew it might be hard to sell it to them. Fingers crossed, little prayers sent up, and dinner was finally ready. Who was first to the trough, why none other than G-Man! Shocked me, this child has come a long way. Just this week I made a chicken parmesan and he ate it without hesitation!! He Ā dove into the keto garlic bread and right off he said, “this is like cornbread.” That made me nervous, I hesitated at first and asked him if that was a good thing or a bad thing. Mind you this child is a hard nut to crack, he will like something completely or hate it vehemently! He took another bite and he said……”it’s good!” SUCCESS!!!!!! I felt like Sebastian from The Little Mermaid, “thank you, thank you!”

The rest of the family thought it was ok. Dad was expecting something thicker, crispier just like with regular bread. Mom concurred its texture was a bit like cornbread. And JJ, well I haven’t heard from him yet. Usually he walks through and will tell me “Amanda do good!”

For me…I am pleased, I mean it is what it is, but when you’ve gone for so long without bread it’s a welcomed substitute. It’s definitely a keeper in my book since I can eat it without worrying about it messing up my ketosis or aggravating my lower intestines. I think the next time I make this bread I’ll used my square silicone baking cups and make keto bread muffins. Something I can keep on hand in the freezer and pull out when I want a small breakfast sandwich or a roll to go with a hearty soup. This keto bread recipe would make a decent grilled cheese sandwich, pb&j, or toast it to enjoy with eggs and bacon.

As for making this dairy free, all I can say is try it out and let me know how it goes. I’m still new to the dairy free baking realm and lack the expertise. However I am eager to learn since it is better for me to be as lactose free as possible. I welcome suggestions, as long as they are soy free.

Hope this review has been a blessing to you and perhaps persuade you to try it out! Have a wonderful weekend!!

Leave a Reply

