Low Carb Cream Cheese Pizza Sauce

I am a pizza junkie! No joke, if there were an option of foods in front of me, I would always choose pizza! And a few weeks ago I discovered a wonderful low carb dough recipe that is allowing us to enjoy pizza again. And Saturday night I made my all time favorite, sausage jalapeño! 


The dough recipe I like to use is found over at Ditch the Carbs. Super easy recipe, I like doubling it to make sheet pan pizzas. Each sheet pan will yield 15 slices, and you can add any toppings you like. So far, I have made the traditional pepperoni cheese pizza, Hawai’ian pizza, a meat-za, supreme, and sausage jalapeño. 

The cream cheese white sauce that I made is a lower carb version of one that I’ve already shared on here (<—click). The low carb version can be made without jalapeños if you prefer, substitute with banana peppers which are mild, or use thin slices of sweet bell peppers. You can also use this sauce over zoodles and chicken for a chicken alfredo night. Just make sure to thin it out a little more. Next on my list is philly cheese steak pizza and I plan to use this sauce for that. 

What you’ll need:

8 oz brick cream cheese

2 tblsp butter

Heavy cream, to thin out

Grated parmesan cheese

1 tsp each: granulated garlic, onion powder, dried basil

Black pepper, to taste

1/4-1/3 c chopped jalapeños, optional

Directions:

In a medium bowl add cream cheese, butter, and seasonings(granulated garlic, onion powder, dried basil, and black pepper). Microwave on high for one minute, or until butter is mostly melted. Use a whisk to incorporate the butter into the cream cheese. Add parmesan cheese and enough heavy cream to thin out the mixture just enough so you can spread it. Again, using old time southern measuring here, if you want it thick then use very little to no heavy cream. Finally, stir in the chopped jalapeños, if using, and you’re set! 

Prebaking the fathead crust is key, I find that I don’t have to flip mine and bake again if I just bake it for 13 minutes. The bottom gets nicely browned but not burnt. Once you’ve prebaked the crust, that’s when the fun really begins! Add the cream cheese sauce, some mozzarella cheese, sausage that’s been cooked, drained, and crumbled. Bake for 10 minutes or until cheese is melted and slightly browned. 

Now what I like to do is let the pizza rest for 5-10 minutes. This will help the crust to cool down enough to where you can actually pick it up and it’s not flopsy at all! The best part….leftovers are even better the next day! Taste more like a high carb pizza even though it’s not! I love mine cold, I know that childish. 😉

What are the carb counts? When I entered in the ingredients on MyFitnessPal it came out really low, less that 1g net. No. Joke. Now, depending on the brands of ingredients you use it will determine the carb count, so please keep that in mind. I use full fat EVERYTHING. Ooo and I’ve made calzones out of the fathead dough! Those were bomb diggity! I highly recommend seasoning the dough before baking it. I like to mix in our homemade Italian seasoning, but take care the dough will be hot and you’ll need to work quickly. I usually have to wear two sets of nitrile gloves on my hands. It helps but I still managae to cook my fingers anyway. Eventually it’s going to get to the point where I’ll lose all feeling in my fingers lol! 😜 Hopefully not, but I did notice that when I accidentally gave myself a mega steam burn on my right thumb last week, it took a few seconds longer for me to notice what had happened. Oh well, all part of being a cook! 😁 

Let me know what you think about this low carb cream cheese sauce and if you tweak it please share, I love hearing from you all! Have a blessed week and happy low carbing! 

2 thoughts on “Low Carb Cream Cheese Pizza Sauce

    • Hey Ang,

      You are most welcome and thank you for stopping by! The fat head pizza sough has been a godsend in our house. We cannot get enough of it!
      The cream cheese sauce is a personal fave, if it’s made thick it’s great spread on a low carb bagel. 🤤 Just add a slice of salami or a thin slice of mortadella for a quick breakfast or midday snack. Superb!!

Leave a Reply

