Coconut Flour Zucchini Bread

I know I’m a day late on here, but happy fall y’all!! So happy we have finally left summer and even more excited about the lower temps heading our way next week! All ready got my fall boots ready, infinity scarf, and warm fall clothes pulled out. Now if only this southern weather would just cooperate the rest of the season and let me enjoy the cooler temps, all will be gravy. 😏 

The GAPS life is still going steong here, we’re all starting to feel better. Mom and I check out our tongues, not daily, but enough to where it is not socially acceptable! We do this to monitor the progress of how our killing of the candida overgrowth is going. When I first started the anticandida diet my tongue had a gross white coating in the center. No amount of brushing or scraping the tongue worked. After switching to the GAPS diet it’s been going away and is actually gone! So this tells me that everything I’ve been doing: probiotics, prebiotics, antifungals, eliminating foods/beverages, using only raw unfiltered organic honey, and making stock every weekend for daily consumption is ACTUALLY working! 

No more IBS issues.

No more bloat.

No more itchy rashes.

Sleeping better at night. 

A year ago I would have told you, HA! Yeah right! But when you’re desperate enough you will do whatever it takes to make yourself feel better. Now, I have cheated a few times but not overly. A few bites here any there but nothing that has impeded my weight loss results. Down a couple of more pounds and will begin doing some light chair exercises next week. Nothing too strenuous, just enough to keep my body moving and taking care to not injure myself. I’ve come across plenty of natural doctors who have all suggested that morbedly obese folks just need to focus on diet for a while. Activities can come later. Which I’ve been doing for over a month now. The only true activity I save my energy up for is my Wednesday night class at church. That’s where I tend to be on my feet more, walking and standing, doing things I tend not to do at home. By Thursday I’m sore, can barely move, and crash in the afternoon. That’s why I plan to do some simple strength exercises to help since my muscles and stamina aren’t up to par. Baby steps. 

Around 1am this morning I decided to try another baby step…a GAPS legal recipe that is quite tasty! I monkeyed with it slightly but only because it’s fall and I’ve been hankering all things pumpkin pie spiced! Can ya blame me?! Tis the season for all things warm and spiced! 🍁😁🍂

What you’ll need:

3/4 c coconut flour

1/3 c avocado oil

1/3 c raw unfiltered honey

1/2 – 1 tsp ground cinnamon(I used 1/2 tsp since we used a stronger cinnamon)

1/4 tsp ground ginger*

1/8 tsp nutmeg*

1/6 tsp ground cloves*

6 organic eggs

3/4 tsp baking soda

1 1/2 c grated zucchini, unpeeled, washed(which roughtly translated to 2 medium zucchini)

Directions

Preheat oven to 350*F. Grease and line standard 9×5 loaf pan with parchment paper and set aside. 

In small bowl grate the zucchini with boxed grated. Pour out onto a thin towel and squeeze out the excess moisture. Place back in bowl and set aside. 

In a large bowl mix the rest of the ingredients listed, I used a hand mixer for about 2 minutes just to make sure there were no lumps. Using a silicone spatula, fold in the shredded zucchini and pour batter into prepared ban. 

Bake for 40-45 minutes, or until a knife inserted into the center comes out clean. Let it cool for a few minutes before removing from the pan. Serve right away or store in a food safe bag. 

The asterisks beside the spice ingredients were my additions to this recipe. To make this truly GAPS legal leave out my additions. The original recipe only called for cinnamon, however I like the hint of clove, nutmeg, and ginger. It just rounds out the flavor. I’m always skeptical of how these recipes will turn out, but surprisingly this is quite amazing! It smelled phenominal this morning while it baked and I was so tempted to snag a piece but I didn’t. I decided to wait and enjoy it with my morning honey lemon water, definitely worth the wait! 

Mom and I were talking about how it is possible to take that batter and make other bread varitions. Such as:

Cinnamon Apple

Apple Cranberry

Carrot Cake with a Cream Cheese “Frosting”

The batter is thick so don’t be alarmed, it does make a dense bread which holds up nicely. Mom loves it with butter, but for those who are lactose intolerant just use a little ghee and drizzle of honey. Delish! 


Happy Fall Baking!!

Leave a Reply

