Keto Sausage Balls

I am a hard sell when it comes to sausage balls. Bisquick sausage balls are yummy but tend to be hard and dry. Not sure too much mix is used or if certain folks over work the mixture. Normally I make my homemade version around Christmas time, including a from scratch dry mix to add to the raw sausage. It’s a thousand times better and I always wind up with tender tasty sausage balls.

So when I came across keto sausage balls on Pinterest I didn’t have too much in the way of high hopes. A lot of reviewers kept complaining about their sausage balls flattening out, being too dry, not holding together. You can see why I was hesitant to try anything. After reading through several different recipes, and their tips, I decided to wing it! 🧚🏼‍♀️

What you’ll need:

Yields: 79 sausage balls

2Lbs Tennessee Pride Bulk Sausage

4 c Member’s Mark shredded mild cheddar

2 c Bob’s Red Mill Super-Fine Almond Flour

1/2 c organic coconut flour

4 Tblsp Daisy sour cream

1/2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp Tone’s granulated garlic

Directions:

Set oven to 400 degrees and line two half sheet pans with either nonstick foil or parchment paper. Set aside.

In a large metal mixing bowl add all the ingredients and mix thoroughly. You can free form the balls, which I did, or you can use a slightly rounded tablespoon scoop. Portion out the meat mixture, I was able to fit 35 to each pan with 9 extra on a smaller pan that I baked in my toaster oven.

Bake each pan for 18 minutes or until golden brown and slightly puffed. Even though I used nonstick foil I still had some sticking but nothing major. Just let them cool to a point where you can gently pry them off.

You can easily reduce this recipe if you’d rather not make a lot and if you don’t have the exact ingredients for this recipe that’s ok. Use what you can adjust the macros accordingly. I just want to share with you what I used.

These were absolutely perfect and great for any time! Dinner, lunch, snack, quick breakfast, post workout, and party finger foods. I could easily eat half a pan but thankfully they are self limiting and I wasn’t able to eat more than ten. From here on out this is going to be my go to recipe and I hope it becomes yours too!

Happy cooking and have a great weekend!

Leave a comment