GAPS Perpetual Soup

My mom and I were talking about last night’s soup(head on over to my IG profile to check it out, it’s a short video of my version of GAPS butternut squash soup) and how amazing it was. Literally, I just threw things together no big deal. At least not to me, and yet it was the yummiest concoction to date…according to her and dad. 🤷🏻‍♀️

After I put my short video up on IG with the recipe, which I made up on the fly, I was not expecting it to be so well received. That’s when our conversation took a bit of a turn and mom said it was so good she could eat it again tomorrow night. Well gang, that’s exactly what we’re going to do but with a twist!

See, living with a history buff you tend to learn a thing or two. I do so enjoy watching anything about how kitchen life was way back when. And tonight’s soup is paying homage to the Medieval pottage. Minus the lentils and starchy vegetables. It is, however, chock full of GAPS friendly vegetables, herbs, and seasonings and the best part is that the soup from the night before is lending it’s own layer of yummy flavors!

So what is a perpetual soup? In a nutshell…

My pot is currently full to the brim after adding extra ground meat, onions, carrots, green beans, and okra. As it simmers away, I am already thinking about what I could possibly add tomorrow night to keep this incredible pottage going. Broccoli, cauliflower, frozen squash and zucchini, the possibilities are endless!

You can do this with any soup, you don’t have do exactly what I have in the photos. The beauty of this recipe is you can add whatever you have on hand, toss it in the pot and let it go. What I did is used an immersion blender(a.k.a. boat motor) and pureed the previous soup down before adding the extra meat and vegetables. It adds body to the soup and makes room for the extra goodness that you’re about to put in!

To last night’s butternut squash soup I added:

4 cups of extra liquid(beef broth)

2Lbs ground meat

1 onion

3 small sliced carrots

1 bag frozen green beans, break larger beans in half

1/2 c chopped okra

Seasoned with salt

1 tsp dried basil

1/2 tsp dried oregano

1/2 tsp sweet summer savory

I already have fresh ginger, a touch of cumin and nutmeg, some turmeric, and minced garlic in there from the night before.

Before pureeing down the previous soup, add the extra liquid. This will help from slowing down the process. Use short bursts to avoid splattering. 😬

I made sure to brown the meat with the onions and carrots first to jump start their cooking process. Added the frozen vegetables directly to my hot soup pot, followed by the salt and herbs. Let it simmer for 25 minutes and enjoy! Easy!

I encourage you to give it a try, GAPS soups don’t have to be boring. If you’re like me you tend to have maybe one or two servings from each batch you make. Puree so e of them down and create a brand new soup! I don’t think you’ll be disappointed!

Leave a comment