5 Faves and a Granola Recipe…

This weeks 5 faves from FB and Instagram 🙂 Enjoy!!

1)Timehop Memories

66182_10152550538539014_2949309962915307965_n

I’m kind of unsure about this app. I think it’s great if you have some amazing posts you want to remember but apparently all of mine tend to be meme’s I’ve shared, inane posts about something that makes me go “why did I share that?”, and old political stuff that I don’t care to rehash. Do you timehop? What’s your favorite memory?

 

2)Batman Terra Cotta Pot

 

12504_10152419682911704_2640206031851854152_n

Going to geek out for a minute here 😉 I am a huge Batman fan! I love the original Batman series with Adam West, I grew up with Michael Keaton as Batman(who in my opinion was the best one of all time and Jack Nicholson was the best Joker second to that of Cesar Romero). Even as a teenager I watched Batman the Animated Series with my nephew. He and I all so watched The Gargoyles but that’s another story for another time. When I saw the above picture I was saying out loud “That is so cool!” Yeah, it really is 🙂 I would also love to have a Robin, Joker, Catwoman, and Poison Ivy to go with it! Not asking for too much, right?! Nah, I didn’t think so either hehe!!

 

3)Aloha!

1779035_787699397917295_7013631295999523911_n

I tagged a Hawaiian friend of mine to this photo earlier this week. He and I have known each other(online that is) for 14 years…? Goodness, how time flies :/ Well, needless to say, if you have the time and want to brighten up your child’s day then bring them a little plate of palm tree happiness! Of course this works too for the Florida beach goers 🙂 Mmm, don’t mind me as I snag a piece of kiwi there!!

 

4)The South (n.)

 

10329258_851490901531635_3774053828490855212_n

Ok, I’ve lived in Alabama for 27 1/2 years and I can with great certainty say yes to everything in the above picture(except for the sweet tea, I wasn’t raised on it). In some ways I am southern and others not so much. My accent is more Midwestern thanks to my Mom, but I can sound like the natives if I so choose. I do say y’all quite a lot in casual conversation. It’s just natural for me, and my son says I make the best fried boneless chicken, he asks for it every week. Guess his little life isn’t complete without it 😉 I don’t use darlin’, but most folks get called hon and sweetie(little kids especially). And here’s a question, how do you pronounce pecan? Is it pEE-can or pUH-con? I was raised to say pUH-con, my Mom hails from Illinois so I’m not sure if that really means anything or not.

…and number…

5)Cuisinart 1-cup coffee pot

10568871_10152550536794014_962122960044925541_n

On my personal instagram I shared this image. I am so happy to finally have an individual coffee maker up in our school room now. It uses K-cups(donut shop being my favorite flavor). Seriously, it’s so nice having it up there. No more trekking all the way from the bonus room to the other end of the house just to get a cup of coffee. Although I could benefit from such a workout, I’m still babying a poorly achilles tendon I’d rather not injure it further. What’s your favorite coffee blend?

 

A couple of weeks ago my Sunday School Class had a brunch get–together. It was the first time since I’ve been there that we did a brunch, most of the time it’s either finger food or simple dinners. But I actually enjoyed the brunch, it was a lovely change! I spent a couple of weeks pouring over the endless recipes that we’ve amassed over the years. That’s when I settled on a homemade granola! It’s delicious on yogurt, over fruit, with honey or cream…it was a hit! The leftovers were gone two days later 🙂 Needless to say I think my family liked it! The recipe I used comes from Summer Harms blog. There was no specification about the oats, I used the quick cooking kind which actually produced a finer texture of granola.However, if you want there to be some chunks then use the original oats.

20140726_085710977_iOS

Click the picture to snag the recipe!

Other than the time it took to actually bake and stirring it around every 20 minutes this recipe was easy to put together from start to finish. I’m sure you can add dried fruit and nuts to this and customize it to your palate. Don’t forget to head on over Summer Harms Blog to get the recipe and leave your comments there for her 🙂

Happy Eating!!

Leave a comment