Turkey and Sausage Breakfast Balls

Afternoon, got some time to share this easy satisfying recipe. I don’t know where I found the original recipe, so if you’re familiar with it and know it’s origin please let me know. I would like to give credit where it’s due.

The original recipe:

2 pounds bulk pork sausage

1 pound ground beef

3 eggs

2 tablespoons dried onion flakes

1/2 teaspoon black pepper

1/2 pound sharp cheddar cheese, shredded

Mix all the ingredients together until thoroughly blended (it is best to use your hands or an electric mixer). Form into about 4 dozen 1 to 1 1/2 inch balls and place on a cookie sheet or broiler pan. Bake at 375 degrees for about 25 minutes. Once they are cool, they can be sorted into individual zip bags and frozen for a grab–and–go breakfast. NOTE: for Scotch Eggs, mold a bit of raw meat mixture around a peeled hard–boiled egg (or eggs) and bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes.

Instead of beef I used ground turkey meat, about 1 1/2 pounds and 1 pound of bulk pork sausage. Reduced the eggs by one and added some garlic powder (1 tsp) and parsley flakes (1tblsp) for added flavor and interest. I used a 1/8 measuring cup to dole out the meat mixture and shaped them into balls. I was able to fit 40 balls to a cookie sheet and had another five that I put onto a smaller pan and baked in the toaster oven. The end results are tasty and will be perfect to have with boiled eggs in the morning.

Turkey and Sausage Breakfast Balls 001    Turkey and Sausage Breakfast Balls 004

Turkey and Sausage Breakfast Balls 006

Right now they’re still on the pan cooling, hopefully in less than an hour I can get these bagged up and in the fridge. I don’t expect these to last very long 🙂 I’m sure they would be great with spinach and you could make them into patties or logs if you like. Plus they are low carb friendly, there’s no bread, crackers, or oats in them.

Hope you enjoy, have a blessed day!

4 thoughts on “Turkey and Sausage Breakfast Balls

  1. Pingback: Cheesy Baked Eggs on Toast (Throw Back Thursday Variation) | Night Owl Kitchen

  2. Pingback: ~Pinterest Celebration~ | Night Owl Kitchen

    • As many as you like seeing how this is a low carb recipe. But at any given time I eat these, I just take four and eat them alongside scrambled or fried eggs 🙂 Thank you so much for stopping by!!

Leave a comment